Join Now
Want more? Enrol for FREE

Self-Development Knowledge Base

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

Main topic:
No items found.

Though it's a very basic concept

Maslow's hierarchy of needs is a theory first proposed by psychologist Abraham Maslow in his 1943 paper "A theory of Human Motivation."

It comprises a five-tier model of human needs, depicted as a pyramid. From the bottom of the hierarchy upwards, the needs are:

  1. physiological (food and clothing),
  2. safety (job security),
  3. love and belonging needs (friendship),
  4. esteem, and
  5. self-actualization.

Here's the complete pyramid in visual form;

How the Hierarchy Works

Here are the basic rules of the hierarchy;

  • Needs lower down in the hierarchy must be adequately satisfied before individuals can attend to needs higher up.
  • The bottom four layers are motivated by absence. Once we have enough, we generally don't crave that thing. The uppermost layer is motivated by

BROJO's view expands on this;

  • Levels of the hierarchy correspond well to the evolutionary psychology, and the evolution of the brain. The bottom 2 levels correspond to the reptilian brain. the next 2 to the mammalian brain, and the top layer to the human neo-cortex.
  • You can progress upward with needs that are not fully 100% met, however you will feel friction and stress that will consume the energy and willpower you need to do well at those higher levels.

Related Models of Motivation

Self-Determination Theory ( SDT )

Manfred Max-Neef's Fundamental human needs

Want more?

Join the Premier International self-development community, and help us change the world.

Join FREE today!
  • Deeper self-confidence
  • Better relationships
  • Social & conversation skills
  • Leadership skills
  • Emotional mastery
  • and much more...
None listed.
None listed.
None listed.
None listed.
None listed.
None listed.